Rheiner Committee


Chair: David Jones

Email: UUDavidJones@gmail.com


Rochelle A. Fortier Nwadibia

2018 Award Winner

The Rheiner awardee for 2018 is recognized for her legal expertise and accomplishments in winning significant court cases ensuring the rights of asylum seekers, refugees, immigrants and other persecuted individuals in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, and other courts. 


She has acted as a trial attorney and held advisory positions for various associations such as the Organization for Refugees, Asylum and Migration and currently leads the Human Rights Working Groups of our UUSF.


Jan and Howard Oringer

2013 Award Winner

Jan and Howard Oringer received the Rheiner Award because of our activity in the community focused on Criminal Justice Reform. 


They operate as the Omnia Foundation and our funding supports many California based organizations led by formerly incarcerated individuals with a mission to reduce mass incarceration, improve prison conditions, and provide more acceptable re-entry opportunities.

Robert Bacon

2009 Award Winner

Received the Rheiner Award in 2009, for his 20 year commitment to defending the most imperiled individuals in our legal system in death penalty appeals; for representing criminal defendants in state and federal habeas corpus proceedings; and for his educational and activist efforts to end the death penalty through work with the Unitarian Universalists for Alternatives to the Death Penalty, and other organizations.

Don Williams and David Jones

2008 Award Winner

Don Williams and David Jones received the Rheiner Award in 2008 for educating Sonoma County protestant churches to accept and support LGBTQ people in their churches.


Don and David visited 25-30 congregations between 1989 and 1995.


Dolores Perez Heilbron

2007 Award Winner

The Rheiner honor for 2007 has been an activist for peace and social justice work for many years.  She was a leader in the "School of the Americans Watch" national movement, seeking to stop U.S. training and support for military forces of undemocratic governments in Latin America. 


She is an organizer in efforts to end the war in Iraq and a founding member of UUs for the Ethical Treatment of Animals. 


Mary Jane Mikuriya

2005 Award Winner

Mary Jane Mikuriya was the 2005 Rheiner Awardee for her leadership in United States Servas and Servas International to help build peace and understanding among people of the world. 


Servas is an interracial, interfaith network of 15,000 volunteer hosts who offer free, open conversations and brief homestays in over 120 countries to approved travelers.


US Servas has over 1000 volunteer hosts of which Mary Jane has been one since 1977.

Please reload